SME Logo

2014 Outstanding Young Manufacturing Engineers

These six Outstanding Young Manufacturing Engineers, age 35 or younger, are being recognized for their exceptional contributions and accomplishments in the manufacturing industry. Each year, the award is named in honor of a specific individual who has made lifelong contributions to manufacturing and SME. The 2014 award is named after Marvin F. DeVries, PhD, FSME, CMfgE, PE, professor emeritus, University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Karl Haapala

Karl R. Haapala, PhD
Assistant Professor
School of Mechanical, Industrial, and Manufacturing Engineering
Oregon State University
Corvallis, Oregon

Karl R. Haapala is an assistant professor in the School of Mechanical, Industrial, and Manufacturing Engineering at Oregon State University, where he directs the Industrial Sustainability Laboratory and is assistant director of the OSU Industrial Assessment Center. Haapala received his bachelor’s (2001) and master’s degrees (2003) in mechanical engineering, and his doctorate in mechanical engineering-engineering mechanics as a National Science Foundation IGERT trainee (2004-08) from Michigan Technological University. He has served in a variety of capacities within SME, ASME and IIE, and has been inducted into the honor societies of Pi Tau Sigma, Phi Kappa Phi and Sigma Xi. Haapala’s research addresses sustainable manufacturing challenges, including life-cycle engineering methods, manufacturing process performance modeling and sustainable engineering education. He has received funding from DOE, NIST, NSF, the U.S. Army, the Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, Oregon Metals Initiative and industry. Haapala‘s work has appeared in more than 60 peer-reviewed proceedings and journal articles. VIEW AWARD CEREMONY PHOTO

Chandra Nath
Chandra Nath, PhD

Post Doctorate Research Associate and Visiting Lecturer
Department of Mechanical Science and Engineering
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Urbana, Illinois

Chandra Nath has been working as a postdoctoral researcher since 2011 and as a visiting lecturer since 2013 in the Department of Mechanical Science and Engineering at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. He received a doctorate from the National University of Singapore in 2009, and a bachelor’s degree from the Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology in 2004, both in mechanical engineering. From 2009-11, Nath worked at the Singapore Institute of Manufacturing Technology as an assistant research scientist. His research interests include advanced multiscale manufacturing of hard/advanced materials, precision machining, sustainable design and manufacturing, atomized fluids, tribology and wear. Nath coauthored a patent (provisional) about 40 international journal and conference articles, two book chapters and presented research results in the United States, Singapore, China and Japan. He serves for many international journals as a regular reviewer, and several international conferences as a reviewer, session chair and topic organizer. Nath also co-supervised a number of graduate and undergraduate students. VIEW AWARD CEREMONY PHOTO

Ibrahim Tarik Ozbolat
Ibrahim Tarik Ozbolat, PhD

Assistant Professor
Mechanical and Industrial Engineering Department
The University of Iowa
Iowa City, Iowa

Ibrahim Tarik Ozbolat is an assistant professor in the Mechanical and Industrial Engineering Department at The University of Iowa. He is also affiliated in the Center for Computer-Aided Design as a research professor. Ozbolat is also the co-director of Advanced Manufacturing Technology at the University of Iowa and leads the Design for Manufacturing and Bio-Manufacturing labs. He received his doctorate in industrial and systems engineering from the University at Buffalo in 2011 and dual bachelor’s degrees in mechanical and industrial engineering from the Middle East Technical University, Turkey. Ozbolat's major research thrust is in the area of biomanufacturing, tissue engineering, 3-D printing and electronics manufacturing. His research has been published in high-quality venues and featured in media, broadcast television and press numerous times. Ozbolat received several prestigious awards and is a member of SME, IIE, ASME, APM and TERMIS. VIEW AWARD CEREMONY PHOTO

Jason Viers

Jason Viers

Quality Engineer
MacLean-Fogg Component Solutions
Royal Oak, Michigan

Jason Viers earned his bachelor’s degree from Tennessee Technological University in 2001. He has been an SME member since 2000 and an active professional member since 2008. Viers is currently employed as a quality engineer working for MacLean-Fogg Component Solutions. Previously, he held application engineering and manufacturing engineering positions. Viers’ work experience has placed him in the metalforming and automated manufacturing areas. While in those environments, Viers has been fortunate to work as a team member developing patents for manufacturing processes, which earned international automotive industry awards and recognition. However, the SME Outstanding Young Manufacturing Engineer Award is by far the highest individual honor he’s received so far. VIEW AWARD CEREMONY PHOTO

Cong Wang

Cong Wang, PhD

Research Associate
Northwestern University
Evanston, Illinois

Prior to joining Northwestern University, Cong Wang was with the Saint-Gobain High Performance Materials Research and Development Center and the Alcoa Technical Center. He is a seasoned metallurgist/materials scientist with rich experience in aluminum alloys, copper alloys, iron and steels, magnesium alloys and super-abrasives. Wang obtained his doctorate from Carnegie Mellon University; his master’s degree from the Institute of Metal Research, Chinese Academy of Sciences; and his bachelor’s degree from Northeastern University with distinctions, respectively. He received the 2011 TMS Young Leader Award and the Key Reader rank for the “Metallurgical and Materials Transactions.” Wang serves on the editorial committees of the “International Journal of Refractory Metals and Hard Materials,” the “Journal of Materials Engineering and Performance” and the “Advanced Materials and Processes.” He is a frequent organizer of international conferences, including REWAS 2013, Energy Technology and Carbon Dioxide Management Symposium, and the Materials Processing Fundamentals Symposium.

Hui Ying Yang

Hui Ying Yang, PhD

Assistant Professor
Singapore University of Technology and Design

Hui Ying Yang is an innovator and pioneer of advanced materials science, such as function engineering and chemical doping in low-dimensional nanomaterials, for a variety of high-efficient devices and technologies with applications in sustainable energy and environment. She has received a number of prestigious awards including the Tan Kah Kee Young Inventor Award (2013), L’Oreal Singapore for Women in Science National Fellowship (2010), Lee Kuan Yew Fellowship (2008) and Singapore Millennium Foundation Fellowship (2006). Yang has published more than 100 manuscripts in top international journals, including “Nature Communications,” “Scientific Reports,” “ACS Nano” and “Nano Letters,” with H-index 26. Yang’s team is leading the research efforts in exceptional nanomaterials and their applications in energy-saving and storage devices as well as scalable water purification. One of her recent innovations is the development of carbon-nanotube-based water membrane, which provides an easy and economic method for water purification and desalination. Yang will continue to develop effective solutions by advancing the current science and technology to address the worldwide energy and water scarcity, and offer opportunities with economic and social benefits to society.