SME Logo

2017 SME Member Council

The SME Member Council was created in the fall of 2003 to lead the member engagement activities of SME's volunteer networks. It is responsible for assisting SME in recognizing and meeting the needs of its membership in a rapidly changing environment, building on the long-term SME strategic goals, strengthening local activities and formulating recommendations relative to SME membership recruitment, retention and engagement.

To learn more about the overall activities of their Member Engagement Initiative and about the Member Council subcommittees, visit SME members interested in being considered for a seat on the Member Council may apply by submitting an International Director/Member Council Candidate Application .


Dean Phillips Dean S. Phillips
Product Enhancement Engineer
Link Systems

Council Representatives

Melissa Parrillo
Melissa T. Dochter
Business Development Specialist
Schneider Electric
Lou Dorworth Louis C. Dorworth
Manager, Direct Services Division
Abaris Training Resources Inc.
Karl Haapala Karl R. Haapala, PhD
Associate Professor
School of Mechanical, Industrial, and Manufacturing Engineering
Oregon State University
Jason Jones Jason B. Jones, PhD
Co-Founder and CEO
Hybrid Manufacturing Technologies
John Kovalchuck
John Kovalchuck, LSME, CMfgE
CNC Instructor in Engineering and Advanced Technology
Macomb Community College
Maite Mauri Maite Mauri
Program Manager, ACES
Cary Rosenberg Cary J. Rosenberg, CMfgE
Global Commodity Manager/Supplier Quality & Development Manager
Watts Water Technologies Inc.
Rohan Shirwaiker Rohan Shirwaiker, PhD
Assistant Professor in Industrial & Systems Engineering
Associate Faculty in Biomedical Engineering
North Carolina State University
Brock Strunk Brock T. Strunk
Chief Structures Engineer
Epic Aircraft