Skip to content


Honorary Membership

Honorary Membership may be conferred upon an individual of recognized ability and stature who has, by voluntary action, contributed their substantial skills and talent to accomplish the goals of SME. This award is one of the most prestigious honors presented by SME and is reserved for those exhibiting professional eminence among manufacturing engineers.

Nomination Eligibility & Requirements

  • Any group of five or more voting members of SME may nominate a candidate for Honorary Membership by presenting, in writing, the reasons for such nomination to the president of SME.
  • A two-thirds majority vote of the SME Board of Directors, by secret ballot, is necessary to elect a candidate to Honorary Membership.
  • Honorary Members shall be entitled to the privileges of an SME member.

Please submit all nominations to:

SME Executive Offices
1000 Town Center, Suite 1910, Southfield, MI 48075

Medal Icon

Recent Award Winner

Ronald A. Gill, HSME, CMfgE

Gill has 45 years of manufacturing experience, including 31 years in aerospace fabrication and assembly. Gill’s longtime SME engagement spans several years and encompasses a variety of roles and activities, including chair of WESTEC Displays Committee, SME International Awards & Recognition Committee, and SME Member Council. He's been an SME member since 1992.

SME Honorary Members (1935 to present)

Balboa, Wilfredo Gonzales, HSME (1982)

Hodge, James C., PhD, HSME (1974)*

Bhattacharyya, Professor Lord Sushantha Kumar, HSME (2011)

Howe, Clarence D., HSME (1953)*

Beall, Donald R., HSME (1985)

Jacobson, Allen F., HSME (1990)

Bloch, Erich, HSME (1983)

Jones, O.B., HSME (1940)*

Bodine, Richard P., HSME (1991)*

Kidd, Donald M., HSME (1950)*

Brooks, Rodney A., PhD, HSME (2010)

Knight, Charles F., HSME (2001)*

Burnham, Donald C., HSME (1974)*

Koren, Yoram, PhD, HSME, FSME, PE (2015)

Campbell, Lewis B., HSME (2003)

Kraut, Ralph J., HSME (1973)*

Caton, John A., HSME (1938) *  

Makino, Tsunezo, HSME (1970)*

Cole, Edward N., HSME (1971)*

Manoogian, Alex, HSME (1977)*

Conrad, Harry E., HSME (1963)*

Marsilius, Philip R., PhD, HSME, FSME (1986)

Cross, Ralph E., HSME (1979)*

Merchant, M. Eugene, ScD, HSME, FSME, CMfgE, PE (1981)*

Cunningham, Father William T., HSME (1995)*

Ollen, Lennart, HSME (1980)*

Devol, George C. Jr., HSME (1985)*

Opitz, Herwart, Dr.-Ing., HSME (1972)*

Flanders, Senator Ralph E., HSME (1950)*

Parsons, John T., HSME (1998)*

Flaherty, Gerald S., HSME (1999)*

Petersen, Donald E., HSME (1989)*

Field, Michael, HSME (1984)*

Polk, Louis F., HSME (1976)*

Ford, Henry II, HSME (1976)*

Prechter, Heinz, HSME (1993)*

Forrester, Jay W., HSME (1976)*

Purtell, Senator William M., HSME (1954)*

Galliers-Pratt, Anthony M., HSME (1973)*

Ramo, Simon, PhD, HSME (1980)*

Galloway, D.F., PhD, HSME (1978)*

Richards, Gilbert F., HSME (1978)*

Galvin, Robert W., HSME (1996)*

Rockwell, Willard F. Jr., HSME (1970)*

Gaylord, Edson I., HSME (1986)*

Sargent, Albert M., HSME (1975)*

Geier, James A.D., HSME (1972)*

Schippers, E.H. Heinz, HSME (1984)*

Ghidella, Vittorio, HSME (1987)*

Smith, Craig R., HSME (1980)

Gill, Ronald A., HSME, CMfgE (2018)

Spur, Gunter, PhD, HSME (1979)*

Gilmore, Robert E., HSME (1979)*

Stirton, William E., PhD, HSME (1964)*

Good, Mary L., HSME (1995)

Sugar, Ronald D., PhD, HSME (2006)

Gordon, J. Peter, HSME (1982)

Tellep, Daniel M., HSME (1992)*

Gray, Harry J., HSME (1988)*

Wilson, Charles E., HSME (1953)*

Graziano, Wilmer, HSME (1971)

Yamazaki, Teruyuki, HSME (1999)*

Harder, Del S., HSME (1963)*

Yoshikawa, Hiroyuki, HSME (2012)

Heddon, Russell A., HSME (1981)

Younger, John A., HSME (1935)*