Skip to content


2018-20 NAMRI | SME Scientific Committee Organization


Livan Fratini,
Professor, Department of Chemical, Management, Computer Systems, Mechanical Engineering
University of Palermo
Palermo, Italy

Livan Fratini
PhD, is a professor in the Department of Chemical, Management, Computer Systems, Mechanical Engineering at University of Palermo, Italy. Fratini's major research areas include process engineering of metalforming operations, CAE of sheet metalforming processes and CAE of solid bonding processes. He is fellow of CIRP (The International Academy for Production Engineering), a member of the board of directors for ESAFORM (European Scientific Association for Material Forming) and vice president of AITEM (Italian Association of Mechanical Technology). Fratini has received CIRP F.W. Taylor Medal Award in 2007. He is a co-author of approximately 250 publications. SME Member Since 2014


Ihab Ragai,
 PhD, PE 
Assistant Professor in Engineering 
School of Engineering, Penn State Behrend
Erie, Pennsylvania


Ihab Ragai, PhD, PE, is an assistant professor of engineering at the Pennsylvania State University, Erie. His research interests include electrically assisted manufacturing, cloud manufacturing, design, simulation of manufacturing processes and materials constitutive modeling. For over 20 years, Ragai has held several positions in industry as design engineer, manufacturing engineer, senior project engineer and project manager. Ragai worked on several projects with ABB Germany, McDonnell Douglas Aerospace USA, Pratt & Whitney Canada and the Canadian Institute of Aerospace Research. Prior to joining academia in 2013, he was a senior engineering manager of technical analysis and design at Hitachi Truck in Canada, overseeing projects related to product and process optimization, truck dynamics and fatigue analysis, structural and drive system components design and manufacturing processes. Ragai received his doctorate in mechanical engineering from McGill University (Canada) in 2006, master's degree in mechanical design from the American University in Cairo in collaboration with the University of Missouri, Columbia in 1999 and bachelor's degree in manufacturing from Benha Higher Institute of Technology in collaboration with the Technical University of Munich (Germany) in 1994. He served as the technical program chair of the 2014 International Manufacturing Science and Engineering Conference and is currently serving as an associate editor for the Inderscience’s "International Journal of Manufacturing Research." Ragai is a registered professional engineer in Canada and is a recipient of several national and international awards. SME Member Since 1998

Advisor (Past Chair)


Lihui Wang*, PhD, FSME, PE 
Professor and Chair of Sustainable Manufacturing
KTH Royal Institute of Technology
Stockholm, Sweden


Lihui Wang, PhD, FSME, PE, is a chair professor of sustainable manufacturing at KTH (Royal Institute of Technology), Sweden. His research interests are focused on adaptive process planning, Web-based real-time monitoring and remote control, and human-robot collaborations toward better sustainability. A fellow of SME, Wang is actively engaged in various NAMRI | SME activities. In addition, he is the editor-in-chief of the "International Journal of Manufacturing Research," editor of "Robotics and Computer-Integrated Manufacturing," editor (Northern Europe) of "Journal of Intelligent Manufacturing" and associate editor of the "Journal of Manufacturing Systems." Wang is also a registered professional engineer in Canada. His accomplishments have won him 12 international and institutional awards. SME Member Since 1999

Track 1: Manufacturing Systems - General Submission

Track Chair: Xun Xu

Track Co-Chairs: Laine Mears*, Ray Zhong

Members: Tarek AlGeddawy, Grace Guo, James Kong, Dazhong Wu*, Thorsten Wuest, Fiona Zhao

Track 3: Material Removal

Track Chair: Ihab Ragai

Track Co-Chairs: Mike Vogler, Jeff Ma^

Members: Massimiliano Annoni^, Shuting Lei, Tony Schmitz, Barbara Linke, Christopher Saldana, Weilong (Ben) Cong, Chandra Nath, Brigid Mullany, Jahan Muhammad

Track 5: Smart Manufacturing - Processes, Systems and Integration

Track Chair: Robert Gao

Track Co-Chairs: Robert Landers, Z.J. Pei

Members: Zhaoyan Fan, Thomas Hedberg, Shaopeng Liu, Chen Hu Shao, Xi Vincent Wang*, Peng Wang, Gloria Wiens, Qing (Cindy) Chang, Doug Bristow, Sandipan Mishra, Xiayun Zhao, Xu Chen, Chinedum Okwudire, Hantang Qin, David Hoelzle

Track 2: Manufacturing Processes - General Submission

Track Chair: Stefania Bruschi

Track Co-Chairs: Yuebin Guo, Gracious Ngaile^

Members: Brad Kinsey, Dinakar Sagapuram, Steven Schmid, Benxin Wu^, Matteo Strano^, Glenn Daehn, Ermann Tekkaya, Torgeir Welo, Rajiv Malhotra, Rohan Shirwaiker

Track 4: Additive Manufacturing

Track Chair: Jingyan Dong^

Track Co-Chairs: Yong Huang, Kevin Chou^

Members: Alaa Elwany^, Yong Chen, Yayue Pan, Murali Sundaram^, Bruce L. Tai, Changxue Xu, Jun Yin, Amir A. Zadpoor, Xiaoyu (Rayne) Zheng, Ismail Fidan, Hantang Qin, Shawn P. Moylan

Track 6: Industrial Applications and Manufacturing Education

Track Chair: Hitomi Yamaguchi^

Track Co-Chairs: Wayne Cai^, Albert Shih

Members: Sangkee Min, Johnson Samuel, Brian Paul, Changsheng Guo, Dale Lombardo, Joseph Budzinski, Jeffery A. Abell

*Associate Editor of Journal of Manufacturing Systems
^Associate Editor of Journal of Manufacturing Processes