Skip to content

Press Release

SME College of Fellows Honors and Welcomes 6 for Noteworthy Achievements in Manufacturing

(DEARBORN, Mich.) — Starting in 1986, SME has honored key and notable contributors to the technical and educational progress and advancement of manufacturing by elevating them to the SME College of Fellows.

SME Fellows are professionals from industry, research and academia with more than 20 years of experience in manufacturing who are recognized by their peers and the manufacturing community for their impact on the manufacturing profession.

The 2017 honorees join this distinguished group who have made significant contributions to manufacturing, including aerospace engineering, manufacturing operations, material science, automotive manufacturing, and industrial analytics and system informatics.

From the earliest stages of research and innovation through production application and implementation, SME Fellows are at the creative forefront of manufacturing. In addition, through teaching, leadership and guidance, they have helped many students and young professionals in their own pursuits of advanced manufacturing degrees and careers in manufacturing.  

“It’s important to note the achievements and innovation marking the entire and extended careers of these professionals,” said 2017 SME President Sandra Bouckley, FSME. “We’re honored and proud to include them as SME Fellows in recognition of the decades of service and contribution offered by each of them.”

2017 Class of SME Fellows:

  • Douglas D. Decker, FSME, Technical Fellow, Northrop Grumman Corp., Redondo Beach, California
  • Bryan G. Dods, FSME, CEO, Institute for Advanced Composites Manufacturing Innovation, Knoxville, Tennessee
  • Laine Mears, PhD, FSME, CMfgE, PE, BMW Smart State Endowed Chair of Automotive Manufacturing, Professor and Founding Faculty Member, Automotive Engineering Department, Clemson University, Greenville, South Carolina
  • Steven R. Schmid, PhD, FSME, CMfgE, PE, Professor, Department of Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering; Notre Dame University, Notre Dame, Indiana
  • John H. Vickers, FSME, Principal Technologist, Space Technology Mission Directorate, NASA,
    Huntsville, Alabama
  • Shiyu Zhou, PhD, FSME, Professor, Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering, University of Wisconsin-Madison, Madison, Wisconsin

The 2017 SME Fellows will be recognized during SME’s Fall Awards & Installation Banquet Nov. 4 in Chicago. As part of their recognition, the 2017 Fellows receive lifetime, dues-free membership and can utilize the credentials “FSME” (“Fellow of SME”) after their names.

Nominations for the 2018 Class of SME Fellows are due Dec. 1. Award information and nomination form can be found at Nominees must be members of SME.

About SME
SME connects all those who are passionate about making things that improve our world. As a nonprofit organization, SME has served practitioners, companies, educators, government and communities across the manufacturing spectrum for more than 80 years. Through its strategic areas of events, media, membership, training and development, and the SME Education Foundation, SME is uniquely dedicated to the advancement of manufacturing by addressing both knowledge and skills needed for the industry. Learn more at, follow @SME_MFG on Twitter or


If you have questions about the press release or need additional information, please contact SME Public Relations at