Skip to content


SME Frederick W. Taylor Research Medal

The SME Frederick W. Taylor Research Medal is part of the International Honor Awards, and honors significant published research leading to a better understanding of materials, facilities, principles, operations and their application to improve manufacturing processes.

Nomination Eligibility & Requirements

  • Nominations can be submitted for both U.S. and international citizens.
  • Nominees must have made significant contributions to the field of manufacturing.

To submit an International Honor Award nomination:

  • Download the nomination form (MS WORD)
  • Verify that the nominee meets all of the outlined eligibility requirements.
  • Include three (3) letters of recommendation, preferably on letterhead; one letter should be submitted by the nominator, which briefly highlights the accomplishments of the nominee. Note: Self-nominations and/or submissions will not be accepted.
  • Submit, as thoroughly as possible, supporting information (publications, innovations, patents) on the nomination form.

Send completed nomination form(s) and recommendation letters no later than Aug. 1 of each year to: 

SME International Awards & Recognition Committee 
c/o Executive Offices 
1000 Town Center, Suite 1910, Southfield, MI 48075
Fax: 313.425.3406 | Email:


Medal Icon

Recent Award Winner

Shaochen Chen, PhD

Shaochen Chen is chair and Zable endowed chair professor in the NanoEngineering Department at the University of California, San Diego. Chen is a pioneer in 3D printing and bioprinting with over 240 publications and founder of Allegro 3D Inc.
2023 International Honor Awards Recipients Press Release

SME Frederick W. Taylor Research Medal Recipients (1957 to present)

Altan, Taylan, PhD, FSME (2006)
Bollinger, John G., PhD, FSME, PE (1978)
Brinksmeier, Ekkard, Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil., FSME (2011)
Bryan, James B. (1977)
Byrne, Gerald, Dr.-Ing., FSME (2010)
Cao, Jian, PhD, FSME (2016)
Chen, Shaochen, PhD (2023)
Chryssolouris, George M., PhD (2001)
Dornfeld, David A., PhD, FSME (2004)*
Duffie, Neil A., PhD, FSME, CMfgE (2012)
Ehmann, Kornel F., PhD, FSME (2021)
Ernst, Hans (1957)*
Faust, Charles L., PhD (1966)
Gilbert, William W. (1961)*
Hahn, Robert S., PhD (1967)
Hocken, Robert J., PhD (1985)
Inasaki, Ichiro, PhD, Dr.-Ing., FSME (2005)
Industrial Diamond Group (1962)
Ingersoll, Roy C. (1963)*
Iwata, Kazuaki, PhD (1990)
Jawahir, I.S., PhD, FSME (2022)
Johnson, William B. (1964)*
Kahles, John F., PhD (1973)*
Kals, Hubert J.J., PhD (1998)
Konig, Wilfried (1992)*
Kovacevic, Radovan, PhD (2000)
Kronenberg, Max (1958)*
Kunzmann, Horst, Dr.-Ing. (1996)
Lenz, Ehud, PhD (1979)
Liou, Fuewen “Frank,” PhD (2020)
Loewen, Erwin G. (1983)
Lucca, Don, PhD, FSME (2014)
Male, Alan T., PhD, FSME, PE (1989)
McKeown, Patrick A., PhD, FSME (1982)
Merchant, M. Eugene, ScD, FSME, CMfgE, PE (1968)*
Moriwaki, Toshimichi, D.Sc. (2008)
Mote Jr., C. Daniel, PhD (1991)
Okamura, Kenjiro, PhD (1971)*
Peklenik, Janez, PhD (1981)
Peters, Father Jacques (1975)
Ramalingam, Subbiah, PhD (1988)
Reason, Richard E. (1969)
Schmitz, Tony L. (2019)
Schwinghammer, Robert J. (1965)
Shih, Albert, PhD, FSME (2018)
Shin, Yung, PhD, FSME (2015)
Slocum, Alex (1997)
Suh, Nam P., PhD (1986)
Thomsen, Erich G. (1980)
Tobias, Stephen A., PhD (1984)*
Tonshoff, H.K., Dr.-Ing., Dr.-Ing. E.h. mult, Dr.h.c. (1994)
Trigger, Kenneth J. (1959)*
Ueda, Kanji, PhD (2013)*
Van Brussel, Hendrik (2002)
Von Turkovich, Branimir, PhD, FSME, PE (1976)*
Wang, Kuo-King, PhD (1987)
Weck, Manfred, Dr.-Ing. (2007)
Wertheim, Rafael, Dr.-Ing. (2003)
Wiener, Norbert (1960)*
Yamazaki, Kazuo, PhD, FSME (2009)
Ziegert, John C., PhD, FSME (2017)