Skip to content


SME Education Award

The SME Education Award is part of the International Honor Awards, and honors the educator most respected for the development of manufacturing-related curricula, fostering sound training methods or inspiring students to enter the profession of manufacturing.

Nomination Eligibility & Requirements

  • Nominations can be submitted for both U.S. and international citizens.
  • Nominees must have made significant contributions to the field of manufacturing.

To submit an International Honor Award nomination:

  • Download the nomination form (MS WORD)
  • Verify that the nominee meets all of the outlined eligibility requirements.
  • Include three (3) letters of recommendation, preferably on letterhead; one letter should be submitted by the nominator, which briefly highlights the accomplishments of the nominee. Note: Self-nominations and/or submissions will not be accepted.
  • Submit, as thoroughly as possible, supporting information (publications, innovations, patents) on the nomination form.

Send completed nomination form(s) and recommendation letters no later than Aug. 1 of each year to: 

SME International Awards & Recognition Committee 
c/o Executive Offices 
1000 Town Center, Suite 1910, Southfield, MI 48075
Fax: 313.425.3406 | Email:


Medal Icon

Recent Award Winner

David E. Hardt, PhD, FSME

The teaching and research of David Hardt, PhD, FSME, have been focused on manufacturing process control and design. His research has addressed diverse processes from welding and sheet forming to polymer microembossing and microcontact printing, and most recently, large-scale additive manufacturing.
2022 International Honor Awards Recipients

SME Education Award Recipients (1957 to present)

Allen, Dell K., PhD (1975) Kurfess, Thomas, R., PhD, FSME, CMfgT, PE (2010)
Alting, Leo, PhD (1988) Larson, John (1999)
Begeman, Myron L. (1962) Lascoe, Orville D. (1963)*
Bjorke, Oyvind (1976) Levi, Raffaelo (1992)
Black, J T., PhD, FSME, PE (2004) Matthias, Eugene A. (1984)*
Boothroyd, Geoffrey, PhD, FSME (1979) Meier Jr., Wilbur L., PhD, FSME (2000)
Cook, Nathan H. (1977)* Mott, Charles S. (1960)
Cotterell, Matthew (2002) Mott, Robert L., LSME, PE (2012)
Devor, Richard E., PhD, FSME (1993) National Technological University (1994)
Devries, Marvin F., PhD, FSME, PE (1998) Okushima, Keiji (1978)*
Dieter, George E., PhD (1987) Olling, Gustav J., PhD, FSME (1985)
Doyle, Lawrence E. (1961)* Payne, Albert V. (1964)
Ebner, Merrill L., PhD (1981) Preator, Frederick (1957)
Ehmann, Kornel F., PhD, FSME (2018) Project Lead The Way® (2007)
Ellingson, Mark, PhD (1959) Robinson, Charlie (1999)
Erevelles, Winston, PhD (2008) Rodes, Harold P., PhD (1967)
Farley, Martyn (1983) Shaw, Milton C. (1980)*
Ferreira, Placid M., PhD, FSME (2016) Shih, Albert, PhD, FSME (2020)
Geer, Roger L., PhD (1970) Shunk, Dan L., PhD (1996)
General Motors Technical Center (1991) Smith, K. Scott, PhD, FSME (2011)
Groover, Mikell P., PhD (2001) Stratton, Mark (2013)
Habingreither, Robert B., Ed.D., CMfgE (2017) Sutherland, John W., PhD, FSME (2009)
Ham, Inyong (1986)* Technical University Of Aachen (1982)
Hollingsworth, J. Everett (1958) Thompson, Arthur T. (1968)
Hopp, Wallace J., PhD (2006) Utah State University (1965)
Josaitis, Eleanor (2003)* White, John A., PhD (1990)
Kalpakjian, Serope (1989) Wilkie, Leighton A. (1966)*
Kannatey-Asibu Jr., Elijah, PhD, FSME (2015) Worthley, Warren W., PhD, FSME, CMfgE, PE (1997)*
Kapoor, Shiv G., PhD, FSME (2005) Wu, Shien-Ming, PhD, FSME (1974)*
Keating, Arthur E., PhD (1969)* Yoshikawa, Hiroyuki, Dr.-Ing. (1995)