Skip to content


Jud Hall Composites Manufacturing Award

The J.H. "Jud" Hall Composites Manufacturing Award honors the late Judge H. Hall (1931-85) for his dedication to making the former Composites Manufacturing Association of SME (CMA/SME) an established group within the composites manufacturing industry, and for his contributions to the development of composites technology. Hall was issued U.S. Patent 3962394 — "Method for molding fiber reinforced composite tube" in June 1976. Previously, he was a member of the technical staff, TRW Inc., Redondo Beach, California, and chair of the former CMA/SME.

The award is presented annually to an individual who has contributed to the composites manufacturing or tooling technology through leadership, technical developments, patents or educational activities. It recognizes excellence in the development or improvement of processes, tooling and applications, as well as achievements in composites research, education and technology transfer. The J.H. "Jud" Hall Composites Manufacturing Award celebrates innovation in solving issues related to production and applications development, and acknowledges significant contributions that reduce costs and waste streams, and improves quality and efficiency.

The submission period for this award has closed.


Application Process & Rules

  • Individuals nominating an individual for this award will complete and submit their nominations online during the nomination period. All forms must be submitted electronically. 
  • The winning individual must:
    • Be present at the ceremony to accept the award during SME's annual AeroDef Manufacturing event.
    • Consent to full media release to SME, which will allow SME to announce recipient along with notable references regarding the criteria that resulted in their selection as the winner.  

Questions? Contact or check out our Frequently Asked Questions page for additional information.


Medal Icon

2020 Award Winner

Kurtis Willden

Kurtis Willden, technical fellow, Boeing Corporation, is the recipient of the 2020 J.H. “Jud” Hall Award. He was recognized for his successes in the development and implementation of processes and equipment for large composite aerospace structures. Willden is a highly skilled engineer and innovator whose ideas are used in production, saving $45 million annually and millions of dollars in non-recurring cost avoidance.
Submit Your Nomination

Jud Hall Composites Manufacturing Award Winners

Douglas D. Decker (2019) Edgar E. Morris (1999)
Larry Pelham (2018) Brian E. Spencer, PhD (1998)
Dimitrije Milovich (2017) James C. Leslie, PhD, FSME (1997)
Scott Lewit (2016) Scott W. Beckwith, PhD (1996)
Gary Georgeson (2015) Melvin M. Schwartz (1995)
Mamidala Ramulu, PhD, FSME (2014) Cecil W. Schneider, FSME, PE (1994)
Doug McCarville, PhD, PE (2013) L.E. "Roy" Meade (1993)
Jon B. DeVault (2012) Leslie J. Cohen, PhD (1992)
John D. Russell, ScD (2011) Larry J. Ashton (1991)
David C. Dickson (2010) Richard A. Lofland, FSME (1990)
Vernon M. Benson (2009) Robert L. Pinckney (1989)
Robert J. Basso, PE (2002) Samuel J. Dastin (1988)
Elbert L. "Burt" Rutan (2001) George P. Peterson, FSME (1987)
John W. Gillespie Jr. (2000) W. Brandt Goldsworthy (1986)