Skip to content


Industry Achievement Award

The Industry Achievement Award, established in 2008 by SME's Additive Manufacturing Community, was developed to recognize an individual or team for outstanding accomplishments that have had significant impact within the additive manufacturing industry or in any industry through the application of additive manufacturing technologies. As the name suggests, the award recognizes achievements that have been implemented or deployed in a commercial/industrial environment rather than research investigative work. Winners are selected with consideration for the scope and scale of benefits realized and the potential future impact their work will have on the industry.

Learn More Nomination Form

Medal Icon

Recent Award Winners

Carl Deckard, PhD and Joseph Beaman, ScD, FSME

As the co-inventors of selective laser sintering (SLS), Carl Deckard and Joseph Beaman, were recognized for their significant and continued impact on additive manufacturing through the development of processes and technology applied in industry.
More on 2018 Winners Previous Winners