Skip to content


Eli Whitney Productivity Award

The Eli Whitney Productivity Award is part of the International Honor Awards, and is awarded for distinguished accomplishments in improving capability within the broad concept of orderly production.

Nomination Eligibility & Requirements

  • Nominations can be submitted for both U.S. and international citizens.
  • Nominees must have made significant contributions to the field of manufacturing.

To submit an International Honor Award nomination:

  • Download the nomination form (MS WORD)
  • Verify that the nominee meets all of the outlined eligibility requirements.
  • Include three (3) letters of recommendation, preferably on letterhead; one letter should be submitted by the nominator, which briefly highlights the accomplishments of the nominee. Note: Self-nominations and/or submissions will not be accepted.
  • Submit, as thoroughly as possible, supporting information (publications, innovations, patents) on the nomination form.

Send completed nomination form(s) and recommendation letters no later than Aug. 1 of each year to: 

SME International Awards & Recognition Committee 
c/o Executive Offices 
1000 Town Center, Suite 1910, Southfield, MI 48075
Fax: 313.425.3406 | Email:


Medal Icon

Recent Award Winner

Jay Lee, PhD, FSME

Jay Lee, PhD, FSME, is the founding director of the NSF I/UCRC on Intelligent Maintenance Systems, which was selected as the most economically impactful I/UCRC in the NSF Economic Impact Study Report in 2012.
2022 International Honor Awards Recipients

Eli Whitney Productivity Award Recipients (1957 to present)

Anderson, Robert (1975) Harding, Kevin G. (1997)
Ariens, Daniel T. (2007) Inaba, Yoshiharu (2015)
Astin, Allen V. (1960) Innes, William D. (1973)
Bakken, James C. (1982) Jensen, Reuben R. (1985)
Barcus Jr., James F. (1984)* Juran, Joseph M. (1995)
Basso, Robert J. (1998) Klocke, Fritz, Prof. Dr.-Ing., FSME (2014)
Bement Jr., Arden L., PhD (2004) Kuhn, Howard A., PhD, PE (2011)
Berggren, Thage (1990) Lauwers, Bert, Prof. Dr. Ir., FSME (2020)
Bergstrom, Swan E. (1959)* McCoy, Brian (2000)
Bodine, Alfred V. (1962)* McKenna, Quentin C. (1983)
Brainard, Wallace E. (1961) Nagae, Akimitsu, PhD (2012)
Caserio, Martin J. (1977) Patterson, Charles H. (1964)
Chambers, Thomas V. (1993) Polk, Louis F. (1957)
Corvi, Carolyn (2006) Robson, Ross (2008)
Dahotre, Narendra B., PhD, FSME (2018) Sekimoto, Tadahiro (1994)
Danly, James C. (1980) Shanahan, Patrick, FSME (2016)
Dauch, Richard E. (1987)* Sharpe Jr., Henry D. (1976)
Davis, Willard J. (1958)* Stevens, Anne (2002)
Decker Jr., Alonzo G. (1974) Stoll, George E. (1967)
Ekberg, Gregg (2001) Tohmine, Ritsu (1978)
Fee, Gordon G. (1986) Truxell , Robert W. (1979)
Fiorelli, Armando (1981)* Veraldi, Lewis C. (1988)*
Gao, Robert X. (2019) Walker, Earl E. (1991)
Gay, Roger B. (1965) Whistler, L.V. Sr. (1971)
Gleason, James S. (1999) Whitaker, U.A. (1970)
Hallowell Jr., H.T. (1963) Willey, G.T. (1966)
Hanaki, Yoshimaro (2017)