Skip to content
SME Home About Awards Award Information SME Frederick W. Taylor Research Medal


SME Frederick W. Taylor Research Medal

The SME Frederick W. Taylor Research Medal is part of the International Honor Awards, and honors significant published research leading to a better understanding of materials, facilities, principles, operations and their application to improve manufacturing processes.

Nomination Eligibility & Requirements

  • Nominations can be submitted for both U.S. and international citizens.
  • SME membership is the only requirement for the Joseph A. Siegel Service Award.
  • Nominees must have made significant contributions to the field of manufacturing.

To submit an International Honor Award nomination:

  • Download the nomination form (MS WORD)
  • Verify that the nominee meets all of the outlined eligibility requirements.
  • Include three (3) letters of recommendation, preferably on letterhead; one letter should be submitted by the nominator, which briefly highlights the accomplishments of the nominee. Note: Self-nominations and/or submissions will not be accepted.
  • Submit, as thoroughly as possible, supporting information (publications, innovations, patents) on the nomination form.

Send completed nomination form(s) and recommendation letters no later than Aug. 1 of each year to: 

SME International Awards & Recognition Committee 
c/o Executive Offices 
1000 Town Center, Suite 1910, Southfield, MI 48075
Fax: 313.425.3406 | Email:


Medal Icon

Recent Award Winner

Albert Shih, PhD, FSME

Albert Shih is being honored with the SME Frederick W. Taylor Research Medal for his pioneer work in machining and biomedical manufacturing. He has established and demonstrated close and impactful research collaborations with healthcare and inspired and set an example for the manufacturing community to advance the safety, quality and efficiency of healthcare services.
2018 International Honor Awards Recipients

SME Frederick W. Taylor Research Medal Recipients (1957 to present)

Altan, Taylan, PhD, FSME (2006) Male, Alan T., PhD, FSME, PE (1989)
Bollinger, John G., PhD, FSME, PE (1978) McKeown, Patrick A., PhD, FSME (1982)
Brinksmeier, Ekkard, Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil., FSME (2011) Merchant, M. Eugene, ScD, FSME, CMfgE, PE (1968)*
Bryan, James B. (1977) Moriwaki, Toshimichi, D.Sc. (2008)
Byrne, Gerald, Dr.-Ing., FSME (2010) Mote Jr., C. Daniel, PhD (1991)
Cao, Jian, PhD, FSME (2016) Okamura, Kenjiro, PhD (1971)*
Chryssolouris, George M., PhD (2001) Peklenik, Janez, PhD (1981)
Dornfeld, David A., PhD, FSME (2004)* Peters, Father Jacques (1975)
Duffie, Neil A., PhD, FSME, CMfgE (2012) Ramalingam, Subbiah, PhD (1988)
Ernst, Hans (1957)* Reason, Richard E. (1969)
Faust, Charles L., PhD (1966) Schwinghammer, Robert J. (1965)
Gilbert, William W. (1961)* Shih, Albert, PhD, FSME (2018)
Hahn, Robert S., PhD (1967) Shin, Yung, PhD, FSME (2015)
Hocken, Robert J., PhD (1985) Slocum, Alex (1997)
Inasaki, Ichiro, PhD, Dr.-Ing., FSME (2005) Suh, Nam P., PhD (1986)
Industrial Diamond Group (1962) Thomsen, Erich G. (1980)
Ingersoll, Roy C. (1963)* Tobias, Stephen A., PhD (1984)*
Iwata, Kazuaki, PhD (1990) Tonshoff, H.K., Dr.-Ing., Dr.-Ing. E.h. mult, Dr.h.c. (1994)
Johnson, William B. (1964)* Trigger, Kenneth J. (1959)*
Kahles, John F., PhD (1973)* Ueda, Kanji, PhD (2013)*
Kals, Hubert J.J., PhD (1998) Van Brussel, Hendrik (2002)
Konig, Wilfried (1992)* Von Turkovich, Branimir, PhD, FSME, PE (1976)*
Kovacevic, Radovan, PhD (2000) Wang, Kuo-King, PhD (1987)
Kronenberg, Max (1958)* Weck, Manfred, Dr.-Ing. (2007)
Kunzmann, Horst, Dr.-Ing. (1996) Wertheim, Rafael, Dr.-Ing. (2003)
Lenz, Ehud, PhD (1979) Wiener, Norbert (1960)*
Loewen, Erwin G. (1983) Yamazaki, Kazuo, PhD, FSME (2009)
Lucca, Don, PhD, FSME (2014) Ziegert, John C., PhD, FSME (2017)