Skip to content
SME Home About Awards Award Information Eli Whitney Productivity Award


Eli Whitney Productivity Award

The Eli Whitney Productivity Award is part of the International Honor Awards, and is awarded for distinguished accomplishments in improving capability within the broad concept of orderly production.

Nomination Eligibility & Requirements

  • Nominations can be submitted for both U.S. and international citizens.
  • SME membership is the only requirement for the Joseph A. Siegel Service Award.
  • Nominees must have made significant contributions to the field of manufacturing.

To submit an International Honor Award nomination:

  • Download the nomination form (MS WORD)
  • Verify that the nominee meets all of the outlined eligibility requirements.
  • Include three (3) letters of recommendation, preferably on letterhead; one letter should be submitted by the nominator, which briefly highlights the accomplishments of the nominee. Note: Self-nominations and/or submissions will not be accepted.
  • Submit, as thoroughly as possible, supporting information (publications, innovations, patents) on the nomination form.

Send completed nomination form(s) and recommendation letters no later than Aug. 1 of each year to: 

SME International Awards & Recognition Committee 
c/o Executive Offices 
1000 Town Center, Suite 1910, Southfield, MI 48075
Fax: 313.425.3406 | Email:


Medal Icon

Recent Award Winner

Narendra B. Dahotre, PhD, FSME

Narendra B. Dahotre is being recognized with the Eli Whitney Productivity Award for his pioneering contributions to research and education in fundamental understanding of science and engineering of laser materials interactions along with implementation of high-power lasers in materials processing and manufacturing with major emphasis on surface engineering at national and international levels.
2018 International Honor Awards Recipients

Eli Whitney Productivity Award Recipients (1957 to present)

Anderson, Robert (1975) Harding, Kevin G. (1997)
Ariens, Daniel T. (2007) Inaba, Yoshiharu (2015)
Astin, Allen V. (1960) Innes, William D. (1973)
Bakken, James C. (1982) Jensen, Reuben R. (1985)
Barcus Jr., James F. (1984)* Juran, Joseph M. (1995)
Basso, Robert J. (1998) Klocke, Fritz, Prof. Dr.-Ing., FSME (2014)
Bement Jr., Arden L., PhD (2004) Kuhn, Howard A., PhD, PE (2011)
Berggren, Thage (1990) Mccoy, Brian (2000)
Bergstrom, Swan E. (1959)* Mckenna, Quentin C. (1983)
Bodine, Alfred V. (1962)* Nagae, Akimitsu, Phd (2012)
Brainard, Wallace E. (1961) Patterson, Charles H. (1964)
Caserio, Martin J. (1977) Polk, Louis F. (1957)
Chambers, Thomas V. (1993) Robson, Ross (2008)
Corvi, Carolyn (2006) Sekimoto, Tadahiro (1994)
Dahotre, Narendra B., PhD, FSME (2018) Shanahan, Patrick, Fsme (2016)
Danly, James C. (1980) Sharpe Jr., Henry D. (1976)
Dauch, Richard E. (1987)* Stevens, Anne (2002)
Davis, Willard J. (1958)* Stoll, George E. (1967)
Decker Jr., Alonzo G. (1974) Tohmine, Ritsu (1978)
Ekberg, Gregg (2001) Truxell , Robert W. (1979)
Fee, Gordon G. (1986) Veraldi, Lewis C. (1988)*
Fiorelli, Armando (1981)* Walker, Earl E. (1991)
Gay, Roger B. (1965) Whistler, L.V. Sr. (1971)
Gleason, James S. (1999) Whitaker, U.A. (1970)
Hallowell Jr., H.T. (1963) Willey, G.T. (1966)
Hanaki, Yoshimaro (2017)