SME Logo

2018 AeroDef Poster Challenge Winners 
2018 AeroDef Poster Challenge winners/presenters from left to right: Hong-Chao Zhang, PhD, PE, Texas Tech University, chair of AeroDef
Poster Challenge Advisors; Rebecca Taylor, 2018 SME International Director and senior vice president for The National Center for
Manufacturing Sciences;
Bhuvi Nirudhoddi (Ohio State); Christopher Dang (California State University, Fullerton);
runner-up Riley Horner (Texas State University); and Jeff Krause, SME executive director & CEO.


Overall Winner

“Joining of Aerospace Alloys using High Speed Impact Welding”
Bhuvi Nirudhoddi, Ohio State University

Graduate Student Runner-Up

“Study on Ultrasonic Additive Manufacturing Process for Fabricating Advanced Composite Structures for Aerospace Applications”
Christopher Dang, California State University, Fullerton

Undergraduate Student Runner-Up

“Engineering Approach Used in Hydroponics Designs and Automation”
Riley Horner, Texas State University



“Embedded Capacitance Sensing Array for Insitu Structure Health Monitoring of Composite Joining and Repair”
Jarod Weber, Georgia Tech Manufacturing Institute, Georgia Institute of Technology  

First Runner-Up

“Direct Acoustic Energy Deposition – Toward Solid Metal Rapid Manufacturing at Room Temperature with In-Process Microstructure Control”
Anagh Deshpande, Arizona State University  

Second Runner-Up

“Optimizing Diamond and Diamond Like Carbon (DLC) Coatings for New Applications”
Patrick Heaney, PhD, NCD Technologies