SME Logo


SME Certification

Lean Certification


Lean Certification header

Lean Certification

This industry-leading certification program is the result of an alliance among SME, the Association for Manufacturing Excellence (AME), the Shingo Institute, and the American Society for Quality (ASQ). These organizations partnered to create the Lean Certification program to set the globally recognized standard for lean principles and practices. As a result, the Lean Certification program provides individuals, companies, and educators with a benchmark for achievements and a common roadmap for continuous improvement and workforce development.

The Ultimate Journey to Lean

Lean Certification is an evolutionary journey, where your knowledge and experience work together to create a depth of expertise upon which you can keep building. Each level of certification is valid for three years, providing a window of time to pursue the next level of certification, or recertification, until you’ve achieved Gold status — the highest level.

Lean Knowledge Progression

Why Begin the Lean Journey?

There are many reasons to pursue a Lean Certification. Learn more about the benefits of Lean Certification for:

Read and view video testimonials from our customers about certification.

Download (PDF) our Lean Certification packet that explains the programs, benefits, how to prepare, and more!

Take control of your personal success and start your path toward Lean Certification today!