SME Logo

About SME

Awards & Recognition


Industry Achievement Award

Additive Manufacturing Industry Achievement Award Winners
Previous Industry Achievement Award winners include industry leaders Brett Stucker, PhD, University of Louisville (2012); Andy Christensen, 3D Systems (2009);
Scott Crump, Stratasys (2013); Wilfried Vancraen, Materialise NV (2011);  Hans J. Langer, PhD, EOS GmbH (2016); and Greg Morris, GE Aviation (2015).

The Industry Achievement Award, established in 2008 by SME's Additive Manufacturing Community, was developed to recognize an individual, team or company for outstanding accomplishments that have had significant impact within the additive manufacturing industry or in any industry through the application of additive manufacturing technologies.

As the name suggests, the award recognizes achievements that have been implemented or deployed in a commercial/industrial environment rather than research investigative work. Winners are selected with consideration for the scope and scale of benefits realized and the potential future impact their work will have on the industry. More

2016 Winner

2016 Additive Manufacturing Industry Achievement AwardHans J. Langer, PhD

Langer, who founded EOS in 1989, and over the years, developed the company into a market-leading pioneer in additive manufacturing. Today, he is the major shareholder, steering the strategic direction of the EOS group as its chief executive officer. Langer contributes more than 30 years of experience in sales and marketing of laser-based solutions. View More

In the News