SME Logo


About SME

Awards & Recognition


2010 SME International Honor Award Recipients

Share this


Byrne Gerald Byrne, Dr.-Ing., FSME
Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Director of the Advanced Manufacturing Science Research Centre
University College Dublin
School of Electrical, Electronic and Mechanical Engineering
Dublin, Ireland


Gerald Byrne is recognized with the SME Frederick W. Taylor Research Medal for his significant and leading-edge published research, which has led to a better understanding of materials, principles, operations and their application to improve manufacturing processes. Byrne is internationally renowned as a leading engineer, researcher and innovator in material removal processes and process monitoring. Other research interests include environmentally clean manufacturing, surface engineering and rapid product development. His career began as an engineer in Irish industry followed by a lectureship in mechanical engineering at Dublin Institute of Technology. Byrne later became a researcher and chief engineer at the Technical University in Berlin. Thereafter, he headed Daimler-Benz AG's Division for Manufacturing Processes. After more than a decade in industry, he returned to academia as the professor of mechanical engineering at University College Dublin in 1993. He is director of the University's Advanced Manufacturing Science Centre and was head of the Department of Mechanical Engineering and dean of engineering. For his many contributions to manufacturing engineering, he has been elected a fellow of the International Academy of Production Engineering (CIRP), several other national academies of engineering and was installed as an SME Fellow in 1998. Byrne is currently president of CIRP.

Kurfess Thomas R. Kurfess, PhD, FSME, PE
Professor and BMW Chair of Manufacturing
Department of Mechanical Engineering
Director, Carroll A. Campbell Jr. Graduate Engineering Center
Clemson University International Center for Automotive Research
Greenville, S.C.


 Thomas R. Kurfess is recognized with the SME Education Award. Renowned as one of the world's leading experts in the field of microscale manufacturing metrology, with research focused on the design and development of high-precision manufacturing and metrology systems, Kurfess began his career in academia at Carnegie Mellon University in 1988, where he rose to the rank of associate professor. In 1994, he moved to the Georgia Institute of Technology as a full professor. By 2005, Kurfess joined the faculty at Clemson University, where he also currently leads the internationally recognized Campbell Graduate Engineering Center. Throughout his career, Kurfess has received numerous awards including the National Science Foundation Young Investigator Award, the NSF Presidential Faculty Fellowship Award presented at the White House, and the SME Outstanding Young Manufacturing Engineer Award. He joined the 2006 Class of SME Fellows.

Williams Carl R. Williams, CMfgE, EMCP, PE
Associate Professor and Coordinator for Graduate Studies, Engineering Technology
Herff College of Engineering
University of Memphis
Memphis, Tenn.


Carl R. Williams is recognized with the Joseph A. Siegel Service Award for his significant and unique contributions to the Society. Williams has been an active and dedicated SME member since 1980. During this time, he has served 17 consecutive years in various elected positions, including three terms with the SME Board of Directors and two terms on the Member Council. For his many efforts on behalf of the Society, Williams was previously honored with SME's long-established Award of Merit. He has also been instrumental in developing SME's growing Lean Certification Program, now considered to be the most comprehensive and rigorous training of its kind in industry. Currently, Williams is an SME Membership Consultant to chapters in Arkansas, North Mississippi and West Tennessee. Additionally, he is the faculty advisor of University of Memphis S140 and serves on the Manufacturing Enterprise Council. For more than 20 years, Williams has served SME in ABET accreditation as a program evaluator and on various commissions. Prior his current full-time position with the University of Memphis, Williams spent 22 years as a manufacturing engineer and small business owner, completing high-level projects in 35 states, Canada and Japan.

Wiendahl Hans-Peter Wiendahl, Dr.-Ing., Dr.h.c.mult.
Professor Emeritus
Institute of Production Systems and Logistics
Leibniz University Hannover


Hans-Peter Wiendahl is recognized with the SME Gold Medal for his outstanding service to the manufacturing engineering profession through published literature, technical writings and lectures. Wiendahl is highly respected for his rigorous study of fundamental issues in production logistics. The author or coauthor of more than 300 publications and a dozen books, his most notable work, "Load Oriented Manufacturing Control" has been published in several languages. He studied mechanical engineering at RTWH Aachen and MIT, started as a researcher at RWTH Aachen and earned his doctorate in engineering there. After a period of seven years in industry leadership, Wiendahl returned to academia as professor and director of the Institute of Production Systems and Logistics at the University of Hannover in 1979. There, he established a long career as a researcher, educator and cofounder of a nonprofit research company. Since his retirement in 2003, he remains active as a lecturer, an author and consultant for industry, including serving as an advisor to several German research foundations. For his contributions to manufacturing engineering, Wiendahl has, among other awards, received two honorary doctorates from renowned German universities and one from the ETH Zurich.