SME Logo

About SME

Awards & Recognition


2009 Class of SME Fellows

Share this

Nine manufacturing leaders have been elected to the 2009 SME College of Fellows. Recipients are recognized by their peers and the manufacturing community as key contributors to the social, technical and educational progress of manufacturing.

David Cole David Cole, PhD, FSME
Center for Automotive Research
Ann Arbor, Mich.

David Cole is chairman of the Center for Automotive Research. Cole's recent research has focused on issues related to the restructuring of the North American auto industry and trends in globalization, technology, market factors and human resource requirements. He has spoken to more than 1,000 different groups on automotive issues and has been actively involved in the startup of five different Ann Arbor-based companies. Cole has been an SME member since 1994. He received a BSME, an MSME and a PhD from the University of Michigan.


Jerry Y.H. Fuh Jerry Y.H. Fuh, PhD, FSME, CMfgE, PE
Department of Mechanical Engineering
National University of Singapore

Jerry Fuh is a professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at the National University of Singapore. He has devoted himself to teaching manufacturing and design for nearly 20 years. He is the author of more than 180 journal papers, 160 conference papers, two monographs and holds six patents. Additionally, Fuh holds six patents related to rapid prototyping and material. His research findings and expertise have been sought at many conferences and universities throughout Asia and the United States. An SME member since 1986, Fuh is an active member of Singapore No. 219 where he has held various leadership roles.


Chia-Hsiang Menq Chia-Hsiang Menq, PhD, FSME
Professor and Ralph W. Kurtz Chair in Mechanical Engineering
The Ohio State University
Columbus, Ohio

Chia-Hsiang Menq is a professor and Ralph W. Kurtz chair in mechanical engineering at The Ohio State University. As a researcher, he has accomplished new findings in such areas as coordinate metrology, precision engineering and control, and nanotechnology. His work has garnered support from the National Science Foundation, the U.S. Air Force, NASA and the U.S. Navy. Some of Menq's previous honors include OSU's 2003 Clara M. and Peter L. Scott Faculty Award for Excellence in Engineering Education, the National Science Foundation Presidential Young Investigator Award and the OSU College of Engineering Lumley Research Award. He joined SME in 2008.


Sudhakar M. Pandit Sudhakar M. Pandit, PhD, FSME
Department of Mechanical Engineering-Engineering Mechanics
Michigan Technological University
Houghton, Mich.

Sudhakar Pandit is a professor of mechanical and industrial engineering at the Michigan Technological University. There, he has made many technical contributions affecting industry. Pandit is the author of two books and author or coauthor of more than 150 peer-reviewed papers. His main contribution has been the development of a new methodology called data dependent systems (DDS) and its applications to design and manufacturing. An SME member since 1981, Pandit has, among other efforts, reviewed manuscripts and proposals for NAMRI/SME, co-organized NAMRC 23 and served on the NAMRI/SME Scientific Committee from 1995-2000.


Albert J. Shih Albert J. Shih, PhD, FSME
Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Biomedical Engineering
Co-Director, S.M. Wu Manufacturing Research Center
Associate Director, Medical Innovation Center
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, Mich.

Albert Shih is a professor of mechanical engineering and biomedical engineering, co-director of the S.M. Wu Manufacturing Research Center and associate director of the Medical Innovation Center at the University of Michigan. He holds five patents and has authored more than 200 publications. Currently, his research and teaching focus are in biomedical design and manufacturing — the application of advanced design and manufacturing technology to advance medical device, healthcare operations and patient safety. An SME member since 2002, Shih has served on the NAMRI/SME Scientific Committee and contributes regularly to the Transactions of NAMRI/SME.


David A. Stephenson David A. Stephenson, PhD, FSME
Research Scientist
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, Mich.

David Stephenson is a research scientist at the University of Michigan at Ann Arbor where he leads machining research activities on the National Institute of Standards & Technology 2 Micron Machining TIP project. He also works on environmentally conscious machining technologies as a contract project engineer at the Ford Advanced Manufacturing Technology Development Department. A Society member since 1994, Stephenson has served as editor of SME's Journal of Manufacturing Processes and is currently a member of the SME Journals Committee.


Albert J. Wavering Albert J. Wavering III, FSME
Acting Deputy Director
National Institute of Standards & Technology
Gaithersburg, Md.

Albert Wavering is the acting deputy director of National Institute of Standards & Technology's Manufacturing Engineering Laboratory. There, he is responsible for laboratory operations and assists the director in establishing its strategic direction. Over the course of his 24-year career at NIST, Wavering has made significant technical and leadership contributions to performance metrics, test methods and standards for advanced manufacturing. His accomplishments over the years have helped advance such technologies as state-of-the-art sensor-based robot control and manufacturing equipment interoperability. Wavering, who joined SME in 1984, is currently a member of the SME Education Foundation's Board of Directors. In 1996, he was awarded SME's Philip R. Marsilius Outstanding Young Manufacturing Engineer Award.


Kazuo Yamazaki Kazuo Yamazaki, PhD, FSME
Professor of Mechanical and Aeronautical Engineering
University of California, Davis
Davis, Calif.

Kazuo Yamazaki is a professor and director of the IMS-Mechatronics Laboratory, Department of Mechanical and Aeronautical Engineering at the University of California, Davis. There, his work has focused not only mechatronics, but also on such areas as manufacturing process design, control and manufacturing automation software. The author of more than 200 journal and conference papers, Yamazaki is also an inventor who holds 31 registered patents. He joined SME in 1984 and recently received the 2009 SME Frederick W. Taylor Research Medal.


John C. Ziegert John C. Ziegert, PhD, FSME
Timken Chair of Automotive Design and Development
Professor of Mechanical Engineering
Clemson University
Clemson, S.C.

John Ziegert is the Timken chair of automotive design and development and professor of mechanical engineering at Clemson University. In addition, he is the co-founder of Tetra Precision Inc., a precision metrology systems supplier. Ziegert started his career as a project engineer at General Motors and later held various academic appointments at such schools as Brown University and the California Institute of Technology. His current research interests include designing systems and instruments for precision manufacturing and metrology. The author of more than 100 technical papers, Ziegert also holds four patents. A Society member since 1994, he has served as co-chair of the organizing committee for the 2001 and 2009 North American Manufacturing Research Conference (NAMRC).