SME Logo

2018 Dornfeld Award Winner

Past Winners

To encourage truly visionary concepts of research and education, top presentations at SME's North American Manufacturing Research Conference (NAMRC) will receive the  NAMRI/SME Dornfeld Manufacturing Vision Award, named in honor of the late David Dornfeld, PhD, FSME, to recognize outstanding vision and leadership within the manufacturing community.



  • Alaa Elwany – Department of Industrial & Systems Engineering, Texas A&M University, Negar Kalantar – Department of Architecture, Texas A&M University, Stephanie Paal – Department of Civil Engineering, Texas A&M University, Zachary Grasley – Department of Civil Engineering, Texas A&M University, Zofia Rybokowski – Department of Construction Science, Texas A&M University
    Submission Title: 3D Printing for Civil Infrastructure Construction 


  • Laine Mears – Clemson University, Farbod Akhavan Niaki – Clemson University Automotive Engineering, Eric Muth – Clemson University Psychology, Richard Pak – Clemson University Psychology, Laura Stanley – Clemson University Industrial Engineering
    Submission Title: Personalized Manufacturing: Psychology and Sociology as Fundamental Design Elements in Future Advanced Production Systems 
  • Ajay Malshe – University of Arkansas, Harsha Malshe
    Submission Title: FACTORIES-IN-SPACE 


  • Albert Shih – University of Michigan
    Submission Title: Global Distributed Manufacturing of Personalized Products as a Service 
  • Glenn S Daehn – The Ohio State University, Alan Taub – University of Michigan
    Submission Title: Metamorphic Manufacturing: The Third Wave in Digital Manufacturing 
  • Jeffrey Reed – Virginia Tech
    Submission Title: Just-in-Time Learning for the Factory Floor 
  • Joel Neidig – ITAMCO
    Submission Title: Distributed Decentralized Rural Agile Manufacturing