SME Logo

SME International Awards & Recognition Committee

The SME International Awards & Recognition Committee is responsible for administering SME's world-class awards and Fellows programs, which recognize individuals and companies for manufacturing excellence.


Robert IvesterRobert W. Ivester, PhD, FSME
Deputy Director
U.S. Department of Energy
Washington, District of Columbia



Committee Members

Jeff AbellJeffrey A. Abell, FSME, CMfgE, PE
GM Technical Fellow
Lab Group Manager
General Motors
Warren, Michigan
  Neil DuffieNeil A. Duffie, PhD, FSME, CMfgE
Department of Mechanical Engineering
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Madison, Wisconsin
James McHaleJames "Luke" McHale
Senior Manager
Lockheed Martin Aeronautics Co.
Fort Worth, Texas
  K. Scott Smith K. Scott Smith, PhD, FSME
University of North Carolina-Charlotte
Charlotte, North Carolina


Vincent HowellVincent W. Howell, FSME
Manager, Intellectual Asset Protection (retired)
Corning Inc.
Clemmons, North Carolina

Questions about SME's International Awards & Recognition Committee and/or SME's awards? Email