SME Logo


About SME

SME Media Center


2011 Design for Direct Digital Manufacturing Competition Winners Announced

Share this

University of Massachusetts Lowell Students Place First and Third in This Year's Competition

DEARBORN, Mich., August 16, 2011 — Winners of the 2011 Design for Digital Manufacturing Competition were announced at the annual Society of Manufacturing Engineers' (SME) RAPID Conference & Exposition earlier this year. Students from the University of Massachusetts Lowell came away with both first and third place finishes, while students from Southern Illinois University Edwardsville finished in second place.

The DDM Competition is held every year, and students from around the country are encouraged to submit unique products made utilizing DDM techniques and materials. This year's contestants had to design a product intended to be, or be part of, a system that utilizes direct digital manufacturing. The product must be able to be used in another assembly and the design should represent a fully functioning prototype. The competition is conducted by the Direct Digital Manufacturing Tech Group, which is part of SME's Rapid Technologies & Additive Manufacturing Community. The tech group's goal is to illustrate the impacts and benefits of direct digital manufacturing.

This year's first place winners were University of Massachusetts Lowell students Adam McLaughlin, Jordan Tye, Lisabet Sizer and Mark Damplo for their "Custom Forearm Crutch Handgrip with Integrated iPod Controller and Flashlight." Their unique design allows people who are in need of crutches to comfortably and seamlessly control an iPod while walking. When asked why they decided to design this particular product, the team explained, "With such a large number of crutches sold, if this product could reach even just a small fraction of crutch users, it would still be making a huge positive impact on the lives of disabled people."

In second place came Edward Schwartzkopf Jr., Ismail Kuru, Andrew Parcels and Paul Jansen of Southern Illinois University Edwardsville for their design of an adjustable blade ceiling fan. Their design would allow for a more economical and efficient ceiling fan than standard, multiple-speed fans. This is accomplished through minimal assembly and simplified secondary components such as a single-speed motor and no additional wiring or switches.

Finally, in third place came students Joshua Valley, Benjamin Zlindra-Short and Jon Salerno, also from the University of Massachusetts Lowell. Their DDM-designed custom Playstation 3 controller allows for gamers to have more options when personalizing or modifying their video game systems.

"All of this year's winners were outstanding for not only their ingenuity, but also for their ability to recognize products that consumers can actually use and appreciate," said David Leigh, vice-chair of the RTAM Community. "We are pleased to see direct digital manufacturing being used in such innovative ways."

For further information about the DDM competition and to learn more about this year's winners, visit

SME News Feed:
To receive the latest up-to-the-minute SME news, subscribe to RSS.

About SME:
The Society of Manufacturing Engineers (SME) is the premier source for manufacturing knowledge, education and networking. Through its many programs, events, magazines, publications and online training division, Tooling U, SME connects manufacturing practitioners to each other, to the latest technologies and to the most up-to-date manufacturing processes. SME has members around the world and is supported by a network of chapters and technical communities. A 501(c)3 organization, SME is a leader in manufacturing workforce development issues, working with industry, academic and government partners to support the current and future skilled workforce.


No. 20110052

If you have questions about the press release or need additional information, please contact SME Public Relations at