SME Logo

SME Gala Celebrates Manufacturing Leaders and Researchers with International Honor Awards

Share this

SME Fellow; Outstanding Young Manufacturing Engineers also recognized at event

(ORLANDO, Fla., May 16, 2016) ― SME, for over 80 years a leader in advanced manufacturing and workforce development, recognized seven individuals from industry and academia with its 2016 International Honor Awards. The honorees received their awards during SME’s International Awards Gala on May 15 in Orlando.

2016 Gala Winners
SME’s International Awards gala occurred May 15 and honored various manufacturing professionals for the contributions to the industry and their accomplishments. From left to right: Emmanual De Moor, Serope Kalpakjian, Srinkanth Pilla, Peter Mackie, Brian Ruestow, Jian Cao, Patrick Shanahan, George Hazelrigg, Placid Ferreira and Joseph Beaman.

These annual awards acknowledge the profound impact made by the honorees in manufacturing technologies, processes, technical writing, education, research and management, as well as service to SME.

2016 International Honor Award winners:

Patrick M. “Pat” Shanahan, The Boeing Co., Seattle: Eli Whitney Productivity Award

Peter F. Mackie, Wells Fargo Advisors, Frontenac Branch, St. Louis: Joseph A. Siegel Service Award

George A. Hazelrigg, PhD, National Science Foundation, Arlington, Virginia: SME Donald C. Burnham Manufacturing Management Award

Jian Cao, PhD, FSME, Northwestern University, Evanston, Illinois: SME Frederick W. Taylor Research Medal

Joseph J. Beaman Jr., ScD, The University of Texas at Austin, Austin, Texas: SME Albert M. Sargent Progress Award    

Placid M. Ferreira, PhD, FSME, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Urbana, Illinois: SME Education Award 

Serope Kalpakjian, FSME, Illinois Institute of Technology, Chicago: SME Gold Medal

Additionally, Paul D. Bradley, FSME, PE, Peterson Industries Pty Ltd., was recognized as an SME Fellow for his career accomplishments and his service to SME as a member, president, international director and board member.

Emmanuel De Moor, PhD, assistant professor, Advanced Steel Processing and Products Research Center, George S. Ansell Department of Metallurgical and Materials, Engineering, Colorado School of Mines, Golden, Colorado, and Srikanth Pilla, PhD, assistant professor, Department of Automotive Engineering, Department of Materials Science and Engineering, Clemson University, Clemson, South Carolina, each received SME’s Outstanding Young Manufacturing Engineer Award of 2016.

Nominations for SME’s International Honor Awards are accepted through Aug. 1 of each year. Award details and nomination form are available at

Individual images of awardees at the event are available in the photo album below.


About SME
SME connects all those who are passionate about making things that improve our world. As a nonprofit organization, SME has served practitioners, companies, educators, government and communities across the manufacturing spectrum for more than 80 years. Through its strategic areas of events, media, membership, training and development, and the SME Education Foundation, SME is uniquely dedicated to the advancement of manufacturing by addressing both knowledge and skills needed for the industry. Follow @SME_MFG on Twitter or


If you have questions about the press release or need additional information, please contact SME Public Relations at